So maybe I was a little conceited when I was all "Oh 50 books challenge? Pshaaaww" because thing is, I sort of stopped keeping track of the books I read. And the end of the year is ever nearing. I'm sure I could easily top the challenge of a simple 50 books in one year, especially when I'm a psycho in the summer and reading everything I lay my eyes on, but keeping track of them is a different story.
One book I can easily track and would like to discuss via myself and blog was The Book Thief by Marcus Zusak. Definitely one of my top ten books, if it would even be possible for me to narrow them down to ten. This novel is remarkable in every single way. The narration, story line, characters, dialogue- every tiny individual piece of it is amazing, and when they're all combined, they form this unheard of story that teaches of relationships, life, happiness, everything. I cried in happiness and sadness, and I certainly did not want it to end. I wanted to keep in touch with Liesel and Rudy and Max and Papa, they were some of the most real and touching characters I've ever read. All I can aspire is to one day be able to create something that could vaguely approach the level of impact this book had and will continue to have for me.
My Uncle Pete died today. He was in a bad motorcycle accident yesterday and landed on his head. It didn't look good from the start. We prayed and prayed, but I guess he was needed impossibly more elsewhere. I'll miss him forever, we lost him too soon. Everyone is still numb, it doesn't feel real at all. I don't know when it will.
The weirdly comforting part of it all is that he was an organ donor, and with his heart and kidneys he'll save three people. That is so incredible to me, he is just the guy that would go out while saving three people.
I've been thinking about that. I think now I'm going to start looking for the three good things that come from every bad thing. Its like my history professor says, everything happens in threes.
So I'm home from school for now, which is going pretty well. I like it a lot for the most part, but for right now its good to be home.
My kids are never getting motorcycles, thats for sure. I need some sleep.
Showing posts with label college. Show all posts
Showing posts with label college. Show all posts
Sunday, October 11, 2009
Tuesday, April 28, 2009
Maybe a little upset
I suck at blogging.
Today was a good day, I went on a friend adventure to Amy's Cage and Sarah took fun pictures- furthering my excitement for her to take my senior pictures. Too bad I don't know how to pose for real.
Anyway, so I'm upset. With my school.
I just recieved a response to my inquiry to Washington State University as to why I did not recieve a scholarship. They did not get my transcripts and test scores until February 26, while they were due by January 31. I paid for them to be sent more than a month before they were recieved.
There is nothing to be done now. I was awarded one scholarship from Utah State University, the Presidential-full tuition/fees, etc.-and I have to accept that by this Friday. So I will. I'm going to be an Aggie.
I don't really know how I feel about it yet.
Today was a good day, I went on a friend adventure to Amy's Cage and Sarah took fun pictures- furthering my excitement for her to take my senior pictures. Too bad I don't know how to pose for real.
Anyway, so I'm upset. With my school.
I just recieved a response to my inquiry to Washington State University as to why I did not recieve a scholarship. They did not get my transcripts and test scores until February 26, while they were due by January 31. I paid for them to be sent more than a month before they were recieved.
There is nothing to be done now. I was awarded one scholarship from Utah State University, the Presidential-full tuition/fees, etc.-and I have to accept that by this Friday. So I will. I'm going to be an Aggie.
I don't really know how I feel about it yet.
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)